August 1995
School Library Journal;Aug95, Vol. 41 Issue 8, p20
Trade Publication
Lists awards given to librarians and libraries in the United States as of August 1995. Late Judith M. Pitts as winner of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Distinguished Service Award; Maine Student Book Award to Lois Lowry's `The Giver'; Mary K. Chelton as the Romance Writers of America Librarian of the Year.


Related Articles

  • Nomination Due For AASL's '88 Awards. Cheatham, Bertha M.; Kovacs, Karen A. // School Library Journal;Dec87, Vol. 34 Issue 4, p16 

    Calls for nominations for the 1988 American Association of School Librarians awards in the United States. Description of awards.

  • Editorial. Hird, Steve // School Librarian;Winter2014, Vol. 62 Issue 4, p194 

    An introduction is presented in which the editor discusses articles in the issue on topics including the awards presented by the publication to school libraries and librarians, a school library writing group, and promotional tactics used by a school library.

  • A Word from the S LA's New President. McKearney, Miranda // School Librarian;Spring2010, Vol. 58 Issue 1, p3 

    The article presents the author's insights regarding her role and responsibilities as the new president of School Library Association (SLA). The author notes that her experience with the public library sector giver her special interest in the importance of reading for pleasure and to help...

  • School Libraries Celebration Day. Doyle, Ginette // School Librarian;Winter2013, Vol. 61 Issue 4, p191 

    The article announces awards given by the School Library Association (SLA) at the 2013 School Libraries Celebration day for School Library Design to Carterton Community College, the School Librarian of the Year presented to Hilary Cantwell and John Iona, and a special commendation presented to...

  • IASL/SIRS Commendation Award. Butterworth, Margaret // Orana;Nov95, Vol. 31 Issue 4, p267 

    Reports on the presentation of the 1995 IASL/SIRS Commendation Award to the Brant County Board of Education in Ontario. Recognition of project `Partners in Action: The Teacher-Librarian Resource Books'; Previous recipients of the award.

  • Awards.  // School Library Journal;Jan95, Vol. 41 Issue 1, p23 

    Highlights several award winners in the school library system. Joanna Cole's reception of the 1994 David McCord Children's Literature Citation; How the 1994 Georgia Department of Education Recognition of Excellence in Media Award went to Tift County (Georgia) School System; More.

  • Awards.  // School Library Journal;Dec93, Vol. 39 Issue 12, p21 

    Lists winners of three awards. Logal Software Inc. won the EDUCOM Higher Education Software and Curriculum Award for its Photosynthesis, part of the Explorer series; Ted Wolf, Alan Cornwell and Thomas E. Sanders (Florida) shared the SIRS/FAME Intellectual Freedom Award; Kristine Adams Wendt...

  • Top school library media programs honored.  // School Library Journal;Jun94, Vol. 40 Issue 6, p16 

    Profiles the three winners of the 1994 National School Library Media Program of the Year Awards, chosen from the categories of single school and small district. There were no applicants for the large district category. Duneland School Corporation, Chesterton, Indiana; Lakeview Elementary...

  • Awards.  // School Library Journal;Feb94, Vol. 40 Issue 2, p18 

    Lists a number of award winners. Among others, Cheryl Tuckman (P.S. 104, Queens, N.Y.) was presented with the Citibank Success Fund Award; The Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education went to Sharon Darling; Carol Chauffe (Swink, Colo.) won the Milken National Educator Award; Clarke College...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics