Russian Cello Sonatas

November 2006
American Record Guide;Nov/Dec2006, Vol. 69 Issue 6, p220
Entertainment Review
The article reviews the music release "Russian Cello Sonatas," featuring works composed by Moishei Vainberg, Boris Tchaikovsky and Dmitri Shostakovich.


Related Articles

  • Symphony No. 15./Theme and Variations for Orchestra. Lange, Art // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;Nov/Dec2007, Vol. 31 Issue 2, p252 

    The article reviews two music releases including "Symphony No.15," composed by Dmitrii Dmitrievich Shostakovich and "Theme and Variations for Orchestra," composed by Boris Tchaikovsky and performed by Staatskapele Dresden.

  • Guide to Records. Hansen, Lawrence // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2004, Vol. 67 Issue 5, p210 

    Reviews an orchestral music release performed by Mstislav Rostropovich and the Leningrad Philharmonic with conductor Gennady Rozhdestvensky. "Symphony 4," composed by Boris Tchaikovsky"; "Cello Concerto 1," composed by Dmitri Shostakovich.

  • Guide to records. Jong, De // American Record Guide;Jul/Aug94, Vol. 57 Issue 4, p182 

    Reviews the music recordings `Symphony 12,' and `Flute Concerto,' by Moishei Vainberg. Movements; Orchestral performance; Pacing.

  • Guide to records. Cook // American Record Guide;Jan/Feb95, Vol. 58 Issue 1, p195 

    Reviews a recording of Moishei Vainberg's `Symphony 6+10' by the Moscow School Boy's Choir and the Moscow Philharmonic conducted by Kirill Kondrashin. Shrill atmospherics in 10th symphony; Fate of Jews in World War II as theme of 6th symphony.

  • Guide to records. Cook // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct95, Vol. 58 Issue 5, p233 

    Reviews the classical music composition `The Golden Key Suites,' by Moishei Vainberg. Performers; Length of the programs; Conductor; Quality of recording.

  • Review: CDs. Talbot, Joanne // Strad;Aug97, Vol. 108 Issue 1288, p886 

    Reviews a recording of classical composer Moishei Vainberg's `24 Preludes op. 100' and `Solo Cello Sonata no. 1 op. 72,' as performed by cellist Yosif Feigelson. Description of the featured compositions; Quality of Feigelson's performance.

  • CDs. Smith, Ken // Strad;Apr98, Vol. 109 Issue 1296, p412 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Vainberg: Quartets nos. 1,10 & 17,' composed by Moishei Vainberg and performed by the Gothenburg Quartet.

  • Orchestral. J.W. // Gramophone;May97, Vol. 74 Issue 888, p70 

    Reviews the classical music recording `Symphony Number 19, `The Bright May,' Op. 142a. Chamber Symphony Number 3, Op. 151b,' composed by Moishei Vainberg, performed by the USSR Radio Symphony Orchestra.

  • Getting to know Boris Tchaikovsky, courtesy of Rudolf Barshai. Ingram, Paul // Fanfare: The Magazine for Serious Record Collectors;May/Jun2009, Vol. 32 Issue 5, p42 

    The article discusses the Russian musician and composer Boris Tchaikovsky. Details are given outlining how the author came to discover Tchaikovksy's work. The composer's influences, such as Dmitri Shostakovich and Ludwig van Beethoven, are discussed. Comments on the composer's life and artistic...


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics