Recorded music in review

Grueninger, Walter F.
April 1993
Consumers' Research Magazine;Apr93, Vol. 76 Issue 4, p43
Entertainment Review
Reviews the music recording `J.S. Bach: Mass in B Minor,' by the Rundfunkchor Leipzig and Staatskapell Dresden under Peter Schreier.


Related Articles

  • Politics, patriotism, and a polonaise: A possible revision in Bach's `Suite in B Minor.' Godt, I. // Musical Quarterly;Winter90, Vol. 74 Issue 4, p610 

    Analyzes Bach's `Suite in B Minor,' and asserts that it preserves evidence that it was once a variation suite. Unifying elements effecting only some of its parts; Evidence of structural control in the first movement; The weakest note in the analysis; The suite's polonaise; Little demand for the...

  • Bach's 250th produces some wild and woolly CDs. Ivry, Benjamin // Christian Science Monitor;4/21/2000, Vol. 92 Issue 105, p20 

    Mentions the interest from compact disc (CD) companies in Johann Sebastian Bach's music on the 250th anniversary of the composer's death.

  • Recent records. Leymarie, Isabelle // UNESCO Courier;May93, Vol. 46 Issue 5, p48 

    Reviews the sound recording `Tocaten und Fugen BWV 538, 566, Praeludium und Fuge BWV 535, Orgelbuchlein BWV 618-632,' by Bach, played for the organ by Marie-Claire Alain.

  • A golden Goldberg. Sancton, Thomas // Time;1/18/1993, Vol. 141 Issue 3, p59 

    Reviews the album `J.S. Bach: Goldberg Variations,' by Vladimir Feltsman on MusicMasters Classics, a dazzling, radical interpretation that breathes fresh life into these intricate keyboard exercises. Feltsman's new contract with MusicMasters will allow him to record the Germanic repertory he...

  • ROCK GURU STEVE MORSE. Gold, Jude // Guitar Player;Mar2004, Vol. 38 Issue 3, p118 

    Provides information on the guitar-playing style of Johann Sebastian Bach.

  • WELCOME.  // Strad;Oct2011, Vol. 122 Issue 1458, p5 

    An introduction is presented in which the editor discusses various reports within the issue on topics including the shallownes of the classical music machine, the historic performances of German composer Johann Sebastian Bach and the death of Swiss violinist Aïda Stucki.

  • Adagissimo BWV 992: Capriccio sopra la lontananza del suo fratello dilettissimo-3rd Movement. Messine, Lino // Lute Society of America Quarterly;Winter2013, Vol. 48 Issue 4, p25 

    The sheet music for the song "Capriccio sopra la lontananza del suo fratello dilettissimo," by Johann Sebastian Bach for theorbo is presented.

  • Guide to Records: BACH.  // American Record Guide;Sep/Oct2000, Vol. 63 Issue 5, p89 

    Reviews several music recordings composed by Johann Sebastian Bach and performed by various artists. 'Arias'; 'Art of Fugue'; 'Cantatas'; 'Cello Suites 1, 2, 4'; 'Chorale Book.'

  • PEDALING BACHWARDS. Lesnie, Melissa // Limelight;Oct2015, p42 

    The article narrates the experiences of soprano Anna-Luise Oppelt and violinist Mareike Neumann on an official bike tour leading from German composer J.S. Bach's birthplace to his resting place, revealing important stops on his life's journey along the way.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics