Saskatchewan authors shine at annual awards gala

Petten, Cheryl
December 2005
Saskatchewan Sage;Dec2005, Vol. 10 Issue 3, p7
The article presents information on the 13th annual Saskatchewan Book Awards gala that was held on November 25, 2005 in Regina, Saskatchewan. Sandra Birdsell won the Fiction Award for her historical novel "Children of the Day," and Allen Sapp Gallery received the First Peoples Publishing Award. Maggie Siggins won the Regina Book Award. The Book of the Year award went to Steven Ross Smith. Eric Greenway won the First Book Award for "The Darkness Beneath All Things." Glenda James, executive director of the book awards, commented on the number of Aboriginal authors and subjects included in the entries and short-listed for the award function.


Related Articles

  • CBCA BOOK OF THE YEAR 2011. Hamilton, Margaret // Reading Time;Nov2011, Vol. 55 Issue 4, p9 

    In the article, the author offers information on the CBCA Book of the Year Awards. She expressed sentiment that she was not able to attend the 2011 awards ceremony. She explains that the first CBCA Book of the Year Awards were presented in 1946 and has since grew and changed. The challenge of...

  • The Quills: Moving On Up. Rorke, Robert // Publishers Weekly;7/24/2006, Vol. 253 Issue 29, p28 

    The article reports on several authors and books that are presented with Quill Awards at Chelsea Piers in Manhattan, New York. The aim of the Quills Awards presentation is mentioned. The hosts and guests at the awards presentation are named. The novels that receive the awards include The...

  • AFTERWORDS.  // Quill & Quire;Dec2002, Vol. 68 Issue 12, p30 

    Reports on various award ceremonies held in Toronto, Ontario. Winner at the ninth annual Giller Prize ceremony; Funds raised from the Giller Light Party at the Steam Whistle Roundhouse for literacy promoter Frontier College; Celebration for Ecco Press's 30th anniversary during the International...

  • ULTIMATE CHRISTIAN LIBRARY BOOK.  // LCF E-Newsletter;Apr2012, Issue 45, p3 

    The article offers information on an award ceremony for the third "Ultimate Christian Library Book" which will take place during the Christian Resources Exhibition at the Sandown Park Exhibition Centre in Escher, England on May 9, 2012.

  • Great literary awards.  // Quill & Quire;May2007, Vol. 73 Issue 4, p8 

    Two photographs showing literary awards presentations in Canada are presented.

  • Peter and Liz Share Edgars Limelight.  // Publishers Weekly;5/12/2003, Vol. 250 Issue 19, p18 

    Presents information on the Mystery Writers of America 57th annual Edgar Awards banquet at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. Number of attendees; Winners.

  • SCRIBE SNARES LION. McClintock, Pamela // Variety;4/5/2004, Vol. 394 Issue 8, p63 

    Reports that Monique Truong, author of the book "Book of Salt," received the Young Lions Fiction Award on a ceremony on March 31, 2004 at the New York Public Library in New York City

  • Highlights of the 2001 Awards Ceremony.  // Sankofa;2002, Vol. 1, p69 

    Highlights the 2001 Children's Africana Book Awards held at the Mary Pickford Theater, Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Chief guest of the ceremony; Excerpts of the acceptance speeches of the winners.

  • MINU AUHINNAD. Helme, Peeter; Kumberg, Krista; Liiv, Elisa-Johanna; Lill, Siim; Meriste, Maarja Helena; Undrits, Tiina // Estonian Literary Magazine;Spring2019, Issue 48, p62 

    No abstract available.


Read the Article


Sorry, but this item is not currently available from your library.

Try another library?
Sign out of this library

Other Topics